Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/complet1/ on line 14
Global Domination | Demo reviews | Favilla: Spawned from chaos

Go to content | Go to navigation | Go to search


Favilla: Spawned from chaos

19/04/06  ||  Lord K Philipson

Favilla (what kind of a fucken name is that anyways?) is led by a friend of mine, Hinreich, who’s booked (and worked as a sound-engineer at the evenings in question, and being absolutely top-notch at it) ) both God Among Insects and Vomitory to Västerås, Sweden. I didn’t have a fucken clue he actually played some instruments as well, but this demo says something else. These 4 tracks of blackish, with a fair amount of melodies thrown in, metal completely took me by suprise. Favilla’s a good fucken band, let’s get that out of the way.

Hinreich’s vocals are screechy and full of vinegar. To imagine this little fella being able to bring these screams out of him is weird. But deliver he does. That goes for the rest of the guys in the band as well. There’s absolutely nothing to complain about in the big picture, but the smaller picture holds some flaws in the production. It sure sounds demo, but anyone who gives this a chance will cope with the sound. It’s not bad, it’s just not killer. Then again, it’s a demo. Ok then, maybe the dummer ain’t the tightest since Rob DiMaio’s asshole at times, but overall it’s just fine.

I like the fact that some people wait with recording something until they know they have solid material. For the first time in ages, the visitors of our forum all seemed to agree on this band being good, so that says alot.

I get some Zyklon-vibes at times ( “Collecting memories” ) when it comes to the vocal-department. Other segments reminds me of early Dimmu Borgir and Dark Funeral, BUT, there’s an somewhat original vibe to this as well. They are not ripping any of those mentioned bands off in any way, it’s more like an obvious influence.

I can recommend this quite a bit actually and I wouldn’t be the least suprised if Favilla ends up recording their debut-album sometime later this year.

One thing though, are the guitars really tuned? Listen to some of the open chords in “Hatred” and make yer own opinion. Not that it matters too much, the material itself is strong enough to survive that.

Strongest track? “Fear me”, even though I have a hard time fearing Hinreich since he’s a nice fella thru and thru. This particular tune holds a fucken awesome mid-section that just drips of angst, melancholy and all kinds of sad shit. If this made you interested in the band, you can and fucken should, download the songs at:

This location, for fuck’s sake!

Good work, fuckers.

  • Information
  • Released: 2006
  • Website: Favilla
  • Band
  • Hinreich: guitars, vocals, keyboards
  • Jocke: drums
  • Henke Burman: bass
  • Tracklist
  • 01. Collecting memories
  • 02. Fear me
  • 03. Hatred
  • 04. Go to sleep