Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/complet1/ on line 14
Global Domination | Demo reviews | Refusal: Grasp

Go to content | Go to navigation | Go to search


refusal graspRefusal: Grasp

18/07/12  ||  Averatu

So for my first official task as a staff member, I get to do this demo review. I get this thing and I slot it in my play list all eager to get going on my first assignment. What bleeds out of my speakesr sounds like a Napalm Death demo from the 90’s I have not heard before. Now I’m wondering what crack head set up this bloody review, coz its all wrong man, I just cant work under these conditions. According to the info its some Finnish death metal band called Refusal founded in 2008, and not in fact one of the most influential grind bands ever. I consult big brother Godgle, who points me to the Refusal band website , where I find the demo is available for free download. I go through the motions, append to playlist, and its still a Napalm Death demo from the 90’s I have not heard. So for my next experiment I set up a playlist with Inside the torn apart, and “Grasp”, and jack it into random. The result to my ears is a seamless assimilation. But don’t take the fucking noob writers word for it, follow steps 1 through 6 described above and see for yourself, dingus.

It seems Napalm Death are in fact very influential in this particular case. The bass sound, the song structures, the half tempo breaks, the groovy parts followed by the blasty punk parts. And somehow Barney is on big dog vocals, and Mitch Harris on small snarly dog backing vocals. In the true Finnish metal tradition, its all tight and well executed, I cant think of what product the faceless Finnish make to compare it to, besides for tight techncal metal bands and Kilju, but you know, the mix sits just right, the drummer might work on his blasting a bit, but he’s also flipping good.

I have enjoyed this demo and listened to it a few times, but its for all the wrong reasons. If Refusal had to suddenly grow an identity by the time they start working on their next demo they might be a force to be reckoned with. If idol worship is what Refusal set out to achieve, then they have succeed brilliantly. Trouble is, I’m now compelled to watch Punishment in capitals tonight.


  • Information
  • Released: 2012
  • Label: none
  • Website:
  • Band
  • Niikka Lius: vocals
  • Tero Pirhonen: guitars
  • Kim Lappalainen: guitars
  • Timo Pirhonen: bass & backing vocals
  • Aleksi Roitto: drums
  • Tracklist
  • 01. Do your part
  • 02. Grip
  • 03. You are useless
  • 04. Cleaning the waste