Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/complet1/ on line 14
Global Domination | Demo reviews | Oppression: 2004

Go to content | Go to navigation | Go to search


Oppression: 2004

11/10/04  ||  Lord K Philipson

There was a time when Bay Area-thrash was the very thing that made me wanna choke my coyote until it puked. That was a long time ago I might add. Now Alice DeeJay and Dark Funeral do the trick for me, and that’s quite a huge step away from Bay Area thrash if you ask me.

Either way, Oppression still thinks Bay Area thrash (that was the third time I said that already, right?) is the perfect tool for masturbation and do their best to sound like Forbidden (one of the best bands of all time when it comes to, here is number 4: Bay Area thrash metal) and the likes, and they succeed to some extent actually. Not only is it competent shit, it also sounds like something recorded back in the early 90’s, which I guess was the point. That, or they just don’t have any cash for a proper studio.

I think Bay Area thrash metal (number 5, hello) saw it’s best days quite some time ago and Oppression aren’t going to revive a dead genre, but it’s nice that they do what they do, a welcome change to all other shit we get sent to Global Domination if you will. I wish vocalist Nicklas had a little more “push” in his voice, that would definitely raise the quality of the material a bit, as it is now his vocals falls down quite flat next to the music and somewhat groovy riffing (0:56 into “Merciless deception”, take a listen to that riff, fucko’s).

All in all, a decent effort with a poor production (but it’s working if you imagine yer stuck in the early 90’s). Check it out for a small trip back to the glory days of Bay Area thrash metal (number 6, I rule), even if it’s not really up there with the best of them.

  • Information
  • Released: 2005
  • Label: Oh no.
  • Website:
  • Band
  • Niclas Andreasson: vocals
  • Tor Nyman: guitars
  • Joachim Törnqvist: guitars
  • Fredrik Peterson: bass
  • Jakob Strand: drums
  • Tracklist
  • 01. T.P.A.S
  • 02. Act of faith
  • 03. Merciless deception