Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/complet1/ on line 14
Global Domination | Demo reviews | Ruin: 2006

Go to content | Go to navigation | Go to search


Ruin: 2006

17/01/06  ||  Lord K Philipson

Let’s get the most important facts overwith… 2 black Randy Rhoads’ have been used on this recording. That alone should make for a perfect score. What a shame I don’t score demos then.

Another not-so-important, but funny, note is that this demo was recorded after just 2 rehearsals, according to the biography (that we all know always is a load of semen). I have heard bands with their 5th album who sound like they rehearsed for exactly 6 seconds. Ruin impresses me.

I got these 3 songs sent to me over e-mail and decided to cover them shortly for GD, since they deserve the spot. Ruin are Swedish. One of the guys e-mails me every now and then as well, for reasons I don’t know, but I’m glad he decided to send these tunes over coz Ruin are very fucken good. Some thrashy death metal with a top-notch production (obviously mastered and fixed by Dan Swanö). I hear some Exodus-riffing, some Slipknot-riffing and some The Haunted-riffing alongside some Slayer-ish solos. Besides that I also hear some massive death metal-riffing here and there, and these guys really have it fucken together. It’s quite fast, it’s quite brutal and it has some melodies thrown in to ease things up a bit in the midst of all the carnage.

I really like this.

For being a demo, this is incredibly well executed. I have a hard time seeing these guys being unsigned for very long. The only problem might be that there are 5000000 more unsigned bands with great quality these days, and they all want a record-deal.

It’s a shame these 3 songs only spans over an 8-minute period coz I sure would have wanted to hear some more from this very promising act.

They might sport a shit-moniker but the music more than makes up for it. Go to their website and download the tunes. You can thank me later.

  • Information
  • Released: 2006
  • Website:
  • Band
  • Einar Magnusson: vocals, bass
  • Anders Bertilsson: guitars, vocals
  • Daniel Schröder: guitars
  • Tobhias Ljung: drums
  • Tracklist
  • 01. Ruin The World
  • 02. Insomnia
  • 03. Falling Down