Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/complet1/ on line 14
Global Domination | Demo reviews | Skirmish: Demo 2010

Go to content | Go to navigation | Go to search


Skirmish: Demo 2010

29/09/10  ||  Lord K Philipson

Skirmish… I fucken like that word. And when applied on a Finnish group of fuckos playing some thrashy metal with influences from Lamb Of God (vocals), Exodus (riffing) and a dose of absolute catchiness and death metal brutality – yep, we are in for a fucken treat.

First off I wanna say that I wish they had a drummer who didn’t cheat in the faster parts. I fucken hate that shit as it just sounds lame and brings down the overall impression quite a bit. But hey, in this case I’ll make an exception. Why? It’s simple, when I first put this on I expected absolutely nothing worthwhile. To my surprise I was rather blown away. Fast-parts cheating or not.

Skirmish is a fucken good band showing that not everything out of Finland is Nightwish-elves and Timo Tolkki (thank fuck). To be completely serious, this is one of the better (prolly the best even) Finnish acts I have heard in a very long time. Vocalist Jani delivers a nice fucken bear grunt and the guitars sound heavy as shit together with a very nice production. if there’s something these homos really managed to get into their sound – it’s groove. And we all love the fucken groove, bitches.

Obviously they know how to make those incredibly catchy riffs (just like Lamb Of God) that simply won’t get out of your head. Just listen to the opening riff of “Human roulette”, if that doesn’t get yer head banging – you are dead.

If there is any justice in this fucken world, Skirmish won’t stay unsigned for long. Go check this shit out immediately if you are into the bands mentioned in the first paragraph of this review. Hear this: I am fucken keeping this in my collection. I don’t even remember when that last happened with a demo that was sent to GD.

Skirmish deserve it. And they also deserve your attention. Give it to them, fuckos.


  • Information
  • Released: 2010
  • Website:
  • Band
  • Jani Niskanen: vocals
  • Tero Kemppainen: guitars
  • Mikko Kupiainen: guitars
  • Kalle the Man: bass
  • Tommi Palo: drums
  • Tracklist
  • 01. The great deception
  • 02. Human roulette
  • 03. Engraved into greystone