Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/complet1/ on line 14
Global Domination | Demo reviews | Ydin: Silvottuna ja häpäistynä

Go to content | Go to navigation | Go to search


Ydin: Silvottuna ja häpäistynä

09/10/06  ||  Lord K Philipson

A demo in fucken Finnish? I have a bad feeling about this crap… But, whaddya know, Ydin’s brutality (yeah, we are talking death metal here) is actually quite good. Silly names aside (“Punishment” is doing vocals and “P. Massacre” handles the drums?! Hellooooooo?!), Ydin is quite possibly one of the better bands I have heard, death metal wise, out of Finland. Not that it says alot, but hey…

While not being the tightest around and sporting a very irritating and triggered bass kick, their material is somewhat strong most of the time. I wouldn’t say that they pull of their grind parts that well though. Mr. Massacre is not fully experienced in that area just yet it seems, but he obviously has got some other drumming qualities. The vocals is another story though… While sporting a decent growl, Punishment sometimes enters semi-pig mode (among other styles), and that’s not something I’m ejaculating over. Stick to the growls, man. Listen to me. After all – I rule.

I don’t know what it is with this band, but for some reason I take quite a liking in them. They have some playful arrangements and they have a tendency to groove sometimes, even though the material isn’t all that groovy… Makes sense, huh? Finns aren’t exactly famous for making a hella lot of sense. Nightwish ring a bell?

Either way… This is a good demo for sure and I definitely recommend Ydin to anyone who’s into brutal death metal with a small touch of grind.

I have to add that this CDR’s got some multimedia on it, but for some fucken reason I couldn’t watch that, which is a shame since I definitely wanted to hear some more of these guys.

  • Information
  • Released: 2006
  • Website:
  • Band
  • Punishment: vocals
  • Kangas: guitar
  • Ahmis: guitar
  • P. Massacre: bass
  • Kuusisalo: drums
  • Tracklist
  • 01. Inho
  • 02. Verivaltias
  • 03. Kylmä ydin
  • 04. No. 1(pt.2)
  • 05. Ikuinen