Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/complet1/ on line 14
Global Domination | Reviews | Chaoswave: Dead eye dreaming

Go to content | Go to navigation | Go to search


Chaoswave: Dead eye dreamingChaoswave: Dead eye dreaming

09/02/09  ||  Lord K Philipson

At least this band looked promising on paper… Being quoted as “modern metal for the new generation” and “an aggressive version of Lacuna Coil, this is Italy’s new metal star” sure got my hopes up high. I mean, damn… Being an aggressive version of Lacuna Coil sure must take some effort since they aren’t exactly aggressive for shit, you know. Nice try to cash in on some other band’s moniker. And while on the subject of cashing in; Chaoswave also managed to have Steve Smyth (Nevermore/Testament) do some guest leads and Andy Larocque (King Diamond) mixed “Dead eye dreaming”. So, see? You would think the potential is sky rocketing with this band.

Then I remembered that “modern metal for the new generation” hardly applies to me since I’m of the fucken old generation. Then I also remembered that I don’t give a fuck about Steve Smyth or his solos which leaves me with pretty much nothing hopewise when it comes to this release. But hey, they have a chick vocalist – that saves the day, huh?


To put it bluntly… She’s not particularly good. As with Lacuna Coil, Chaoswave came to the conclusion that including a male idiot (broken English, hellooooo!!!) sharing vocals with the cunt is a fantastic idea on top of the kindergarten riffs and boring metal. Lemme just say that it doesn’t fucken work.

Chaoswave’s got some (two, tops) cool riffs here and there (“Rise” comes to mind) but overall it sounds like they just try too much and fail at it. But thanx for sending the album and building up some expectations, even though you fucken suck at delivering…

3 non existing identities out of 10.

  • Information
  • Released: 2008
  • Label: Silverwolf Productions
  • Website:
  • Band
  • Giorgia: vocals
  • Fabio: vocals
  • Guf: guitars
  • Michele: session bass
  • Raphael: drums
  • Tracklist
  • 01. 10 Years of Denial
  • 02. Fork Tongues and Foul Times
  • 03. How to Define a Race
  • 04. A March for the Dying
  • 05. Another Lie to Live in Vain
  • 06. Blind Eye Focus
  • 07. Dead Eye Dream
  • 08. Rise
  • 09. Picture Perfect
  • 10. Two Shadows
  • 11. The Evident