Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/complet1/ on line 14
Global Domination | Reviews | Ikuinen Kaamos: Closure

Go to content | Go to navigation | Go to search


Ikuinen Kaamos: Closure

20/01/09  ||  Euthanatos

Ikuinen Kaamos is another of those bands that started out as black metal and then evolved into something beautiful. Not that I’m saying that black metal isn’t good and/or can’t be beautiful. Well, it can’t, so what? Anyway, Ikuinen Kaamos is also a band that’s largely unknown, and unfairly so. Their music is pretty amazing.

The first album, “The Forlorn”, was something like Moonsorrow lite; while not as blackish, the record has some incredible melodies like Moonsorrow and other acts like Enslaved, Vreid and so on do. But, like I said, they aren’t as aggressive as some of those other bands. Actually, they’re only a bit aggressive, and on this new EP, the lighter side is even more prevalent. That does not mean, at all, that “Closure” isn’t any good. It’s fucking fantastic, and I can’t help but wishing these guys had a CD out already, after all, “The Forlorn” is from 2006. Luckily, this EP is just like a Moonsorrow EP; it has three songs which are pretty long, so it almost feels like a real album. Plus, the material is so good, I can’t help but being satisfied anyway. “Closure”, “Your Gallows” and “The Absence” are three long and finely crafted songs, which go from melodic doom to ethereal atmospheric so smoothly, it’s like inserting your penis into a stripper. With lube. Lots of lube.

There’s nothing not to like here if you’re into the bands I mentioned before. And you know what’s even cooler? This is a free EP. That’s right. You can legally download this. Not a drop of guilt on your conscience. Apparently the band has some issues with their label, go figure. Better for the rest of us. Get it. It’s not like you’re paying for it or anything, so the worst thing that can happen is you delete it after a few minutes in. But I’m pretty sure you’ll enjoy the fuck out of this baby.

The cover: Fuck me, it’s absolutely gorgeous. A bridge with a fiery background.

8 ikuinen kamen hamen has out of 10.

  • Information
  • Released: 2008
  • Label: None! It’s Free! Free!
  • Website:
  • Band
  • Risto Herranen: vocals
  • Juhani Mikkonen: guitars
  • Jarno Ruuskanen: guitars
  • Lauri Saari: bass
  • J-P Räisänen: drums
  • Tracklist
  • 01. Closure
  • 02. Your Gallows
  • 03. The Absence