Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/complet1/ on line 14
Global Domination | Reviews | Neuromist: Move of thought

Go to content | Go to navigation | Go to search


Neuromist: Move of thought

29/07/10  ||  revenant

Ever wondered what would happen if you got all the members of Meshuggah, Cynic and Dream Theatre together, placed a bucket at their feet and then asked them all to circle jerk into it? Then, when the last of them has shot his load, taken than bucket of man juice, stirred the contents together, and finally inseminated four Moldovan women? I know, I too spend sleepless nights wondering the same thing. Well guess the fuck what? Your torment is over, and all questions answered in the form of Neuromist.

Ah yes, with an introduction like that you have probably already guessed this young band play a mix of progressive and tech-death metal. I have to admit straight up I am probably not the best person in the world to review this one. When it comes to tempo shifts, don’t get all random on me. I like my shit predictable. But this album, tempo shifts all over the fucken place, and not one normal time signature. It’s madness I say, madness.

One thing that stands out greater than dog’s bollocks on this album is the bass. My god, it’s so fucken prominent in the mix. Think of what the exact opposite of “…And Justice for All” would sound like, and this would be it. But while the bass is well played (jazz style), I find it’s prominence annoys the shit out of me, particularly when listening to this album on headphones. It is just to loud in the mix, as high as (if not higher) than the guitars.

Negatives aside, this is a pretty damn fine album. In parts it’s extremely heavy, while the more progressive moments provide a stark contrast. The band are synchronized and tight, I have no quibbles over their musicianship. If anything, if Neuromist set out to create something unique and intriguing, then I would call this album a success.

As I mentioned above, this is not entirely my thing, but if they description sounds like something you would be interested in, then head on over to their website and download it. That’s right tightwads, you can get this album for nothing, no need to dust off the wallet. Bloody generous if you ask me. Seriously, what the fuck do you have to lose?


  • Information
  • Released: 2010
  • Label: Self released
  • Website:
  • Band
  • Vladimir Ghillien: vocals
  • Kirill Zmurciuk: guitars
  • Alex Petriuc: bass
  • Mike Grigorash: drums
  • Tracklist
  • 01. The Sixth Dawn
  • 02. Bizarre
  • 03. Reason Crusade
  • 04. Inner Voids
  • 05. Lost Grip
  • 06. Cortex Tectonics
  • 07. Rebuilt Babylon