Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/complet1/ on line 14
Global Domination | Reviews | Ruined Soul: My dying day

Go to content | Go to navigation | Go to search


Ruined Soul: My dying day

19/04/10  ||  Lord K Philipson

2 seconds in… Wow, drum machine de luxe, huh? Must be the commonly used Drumkit From Hell since the fucko in charge of this disaster forgot to adjust the volume of every first kick-hit so its at the same level as the other hits in the beats. How the fuck did the creators of an otherwise excellent program miss that little detail? It’s as annoying as the “St. Anger” syndrome, which is pretty much the same thing. You know, kicks sounding like this:

DUM! dum dum dum dum dum dum dum
DUM! dum dum dum dum dum dum dum
DUM! dum dum dum dum dum dum dum
DUM! dum dum dum dum dum dum dum

Fail. I wish that was the only problem with this recording, but ofcourse it’s not. Finding out that this is a one-man band should actually light all the warning signs around you. How often is a one-man “band” something to get excited over? Yes, Alice DeeJay and Bl├╝mchen counts even though they are women, but besides those 2? There you go…


Ruined Soul (Moniker World Championship runner-up) play some melodic modern metal/semi-thrash/whatever and it’s ultimately forgettable on all accounts. Screamy vocals somewhat reminiscent of Anders (In Flames), only not nearly as well executed. Melodic, non-catchy riffs and boring programmings backing it all up. Sounds like a sweet deal, huh? I rather have mustard inserted into my anus than listen to uninspired music like this ever again.

Ruined Soul is absolutely tiring, completely lacking passion and soul and not even the production (courtesy of Sonic Train) is helping since it’s not standing out in any way, shape or form. The rehashed, second grade thrash riffs are as interesting as watching ballhair grow, and the very anonymous song writing just doesn’t cut it. There is probably nothing at all about this album that you will find interesting.

To put it bluntly; forget about this altogether.


  • Information
  • Released: 2010
  • Label: Suicide Records
  • Website: Ruined Soul MySpace
  • Band
  • Johnny Johansson: guitars, acoustic guitars, bass (and vocals?)
  • Tracklist
  • 01. My dying day
  • 02. Rivers of blood
  • 03. Destruction
  • 04. Death gives new life
  • 05. Rewind
  • 06. Bleeding
  • 07. Tears of guilt
  • 08. Inner peace
  • 09. Divided
  • 10. Alone