Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/complet1/ on line 14
Global Domination | Reviews | Stam1na: Uudet kymmenen käskyä

Go to content | Go to navigation | Go to search


Stam1na: Uudet kymmenen käskyäStam1na: Uudet kymmenen käskyä

04/06/06  ||  Statik Majik

After one or two listens I can usually say whether I dig an album at hand or not. Here’s one complicated fuckface though. After listening to this cd for five times or so I still couldn’t fathom how I felt about it. But I was persistant and gave it a few more spins. And what do you know, “Uudet kymmenen käskyä” started to grow on me.

Most of the times Stam1na performs heavy fucken metal. Sometimes faster, sometimes slower, but it’s still heavy metal. And someone responsible for the composing process really (and I mean really ) loves Strapping Young Lad, I can tell you that. There are some parts on “Uudet kymmenen käskyä” that are almost as fast as the most hectic parts on the SYL-releases. Actually the whole song “Vapaa maa” is so extremely SYL-like it’s not even funny. And I fucken love it.

“Likainen parketti” is another strong effort on this disc. Ok, who am I kidding: there’s not a single weak song on this release. But this particular song is just a perfect example of how to mix slow (ok, I admit, it should say “radio friendly”) parts with massively heavy shit and create catchy fucken songs out of those ingredients. It’s actually weird that I dig this album so much. Despite all the heaviness on this fucker, the slower, almost rock-like (or even pop-like), parts are so fucken close to the limit where I wanna press STOP on my cd-player and put something heavier on instead. But it’s as if Stam1na knew this while composing the songs and took the risk intentionally, because as soon as my patience starts wearing thin, all hell breaks loose and I’m all smiles again. And when the album is over, the general feeling I’m left with is good and satisfied. Few times I even noticed that I was humming some of the slower/melodic parts. Yeah, it’s that catchy. I’m obviously getting soft. And old. Someone get me the new Deicide album… Soon. Before my relationship with the extreme side of metal is completely ruined.

The sound-policy on this release is perfect. It’s as heavy as it gets and all the instruments are clearly audible. The guitars are sometimes so fucken massive that it nearly tickles my penis (Yeah, I managed to get the word “penis” included in this review as well. Penises are Teh Shit at Global Domination at the moment). I just don’t dig (that much) the extensive amount of clean vocals on this album. On a few occasiations the contrast between the clean vocals and heavy-ass music gets a bit irritating. But just a bit, as you can notice from the score I’ll give this piece of plastic.

Oh, I just have to add that there’s actually two “interesting” guest-vocalists here. Jouni Hynynen from Kotiteollisuus and Rainer Nygård from Diablo. Ok, “interesting” at least to Finns. Anyway, they contribute for the track “Viisi laukasta päähän”. I think it’s safe to say that it’s also my favourite tune on “Uudet kymmenen käskyä”. And that adds half-points to the overall score.

I basically could go on and analyse the lyrics of this release a bit, but since most of our readers don’t even understand Finnish, I don’t see any point in it. Unless I’d go and translate ‘em. Yeah… now do you think I wanna go that far..? Exactly, it would be as rewarding as peeing on a electric fence. And even if the title of this disc could be perceived biblical (it means “The new ten commandments”), it has nothing to do with the bible.

So, no matter how many paragraphs I manage to fill with my brainless rants, the fact that this is a damn good album remains.

8 /10.

PS. I had a terrible urge to comment on the use of the number one in the band name, but I managed contain myself during this whole review. Almost. Let me just say that I fucken hate replacing letters with numbers if there’s no real reason to do so.

  • Information
  • Released: 2006
  • Label: Sakara
  • Website:
  • Band
  • Antti Hyyrynen: vocals, guitars
  • Pekka Olkonen: guitars
  • Kai-Pekka Kangasmäki: bass
  • Teppo Valin: drums
  • Tracklist
  • 01. Uudet kymmenen käskyä
  • 02. Merestä maalle
  • 03. Edessäni
  • 04. Viisi laukausta päähän
  • 05. Vapaa maa
  • 06. Lapsus
  • 07. Paperinukke
  • 08. Suhdeluku
  • 09. Likainen parketti
  • 10. Ovi
  • 11. Kaksi reittiä yksi suunta