Deprecated: Function set_magic_quotes_runtime() is deprecated in /home/complet1/ on line 14
Global Domination | Reviews | Unlight: Death consecrates with blood

Go to content | Go to navigation | Go to search


Unlight: Death consecrates with bloodUnlight: Death consecrates with blood

24/03/09  ||  Khlysty

These guys are German and they exist – in one form or other – since 1997, which, in my opinion, is a pretty fucking long time for a band to display such a great lack of character. In their own words, Unlight play a mixture of black metal and thrash and, from what I gather, they’re supposed to be a “next big thing” or something like that. Yeah, sure, and I’m Bonnie Tyler singing “Cursed Realms (Of The Winterdemons)”.

From what I hear in this record – their fourth full-length, ferfucksake! -, Unlight is pretty derivative, copping riffs from bands like Immortal (which is a bad sign…) and pasting them together, in a futile attempt to make something that approaches headbangable music. The melodies are completely interchangeable, the playing is OK, but, at least for me, without much of a character and the clean production seems to suck whatever life and virility these songs possess in the first place. The songs do not possess neither black metal’s venom and acid, nor thrash’s power and fun. They just move in predictable ways, without actually going anywhere.

But, you know, my greatest problem with this record is a nagging suspicion that I have, that Unlight don’t really care about the things I said above, that are dragging the record down. They seem to care only for one thing: to cater the expected chow to the masses, in a way that, at least to me, seems completely without character and attitude. The whole thing sounds, not composed and played, but produced so as to be consumed by people who don’t really care about what they’re listening to, except that it has something “metal” tagged onto it.

4,5 out of 10 (I can’t come up with something smart to say about music so faceless…).

  • Information
  • Released: 2009
  • Label: Massacre Records
  • Website:
  • Band
  • Blaspherion: guitar, vocals
  • Lord Grond: drums
  • Tartaros: bass
  • Necron: guitar
  • Tracklist
  • 01. Death Consecrates With Blood
  • 02. Becoming the Ungodly Sin
  • 03. That Old Black Magick Spell
  • 04. The Passing of the Black Storms
  • 05. Carnal Baptism (The Wine Of Sin)
  • 06. Dancing Upon the Bones of a Na├»ve Perception
  • 07. Bestow the Blessings of Hell Upon Us
  • 08. Enthrone Night
  • 09. Mendacious Messiah
  • 10. Dead Angel Innocence